Awards for MPB artists

Marco Antonio Barbosa
The eighth edition of the Prêmio Multishow de Música Brasileira, an award for MPB artists given by the cable television station Multishow, happened on Tuesday night in Rio de Janeiro. Marisa Monte was awarded Best Album and Best Female Singer, while Caetano Veloso won the award for Best Male Singer. Sandy & Junior won in the Best Videoclip and Best Concert categories, while Wanessa Camargo was voted Best New Artist. Capital Incial was chosen Best Group, guitarist Lulu Santos was awarded Best Instrumentalist and Se Eu Não Te Amasse Tanto Assim (Herbert Vianna and Paulo Sergio Valle), with Ivete Sangalo, won the Best Song.